Seniors advance to Championship Final

The Seniors booked their place in the 2012 Senior Championship Final with a convincing win over Durham on a score-line of 4-14 to 2-5. Things got off to a good start with points from play from Mark Downey and Cathal Kenny. After an exchange of scores between both sides, (points from Downey and Shane Boyd) St Vincents were able to get the first goal of the gam…e. After a speculative effort from Downey that hit the post, the ball dropped to Adam Clark who was taken down by the goalkeeper for a penalty, which was coolly dispatched by Kenny. Durham hit back with a goal and point to reduce the deficit to the minimium. In the 27th minute of the first half – the ball was cleared from the St Vincents goalmouth and after good work from Matthew O’Donnell – a long ball from Cian McDermott was played in behind the Durham defence for Clark to round the goalie and finish the ball to the net. A further point from Ciaran Brenan left the score-line 2-5 to 1-4.

The lads came out strong in the first ten minutes and hit 1-6 without reply which effectively ended the contest – Kenny with this second goal and some great long range pints from Downey. The defence was resolute nullifying most of the Durham attacks in the second half. A further goal from Liam Munnelly and two frees from Kenny sealed the deal for the boys before a late consolation goal for Durham.

It was an good overall performance from all the guys who played their part.

The final on September 9th brings a rematch from last years final and a meeting against St.. Mikes. There is little need for motivation within the team after the way the game finished last year and should prove to be a great game at the game.

Scorers – Cathal Kenny (2-5), Mark Downey (0-6) Adam Clark (1-1), Liam Munnelly (1-0) Ciaran Brenan (0-1) and Shane Boyd (0-1)

Team – Paul Moloney, Matthew O’Donnell, Stephen Sheridan, Mick Snee, Padhraic Shevlin, Cian McDermott, Damian Dolan, Henry Brown, Andrew Lyons, Jamie English, Mark Downey, Cathal Kenny, Ciaran Brenan, Adam Clark and Shane Boyd.

Subs – David Collins for Shane Boyd, Tom Curtin for Jamie English, John Donlon for Stephen Sheridan, Sean Egan for Padhraic Shevlin, Podgy McGuinness and Chris Mulroy.